Be Joyful


Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

1 THESSALONIANS 5 : 16 –18

I truly needed to read, to hear, this message from Jesus this morning. As I read these words this morning in my devotional time, this particular translation of this verse spoke loudly and clearly to the needs of my spirit.  The words were direct from the Lord responding to my tearful prayers of last evening.

The transition of semi -retiring, taking on new ministries, spending more time with my husband, adjusting to being my ‘Nanny’s’ age, trying to help a widow neighbor who is probably dying from melonoma cancer has been a challenging and difficult time. My JOY has been lost along the way and last night I was praying for God’s arms of comfort, His peace as only He can give and the return of His JOY in my soul – or I really should say, my awareness of His JOY in my soul.

I have read this verse many times in the NKJV and it has been a favorite yet this morning, Jesus said through the words of the great apostle Paul – “Be joyful ” “giving thanks in all circumstances” just as if we were sitting side by side as He responded to my tearful cries with His arms around me giving my comfort.

This morning the JOY returns. I hear the sounds of birds singing outside my window as the sun rises on this Monday, my loving husband as he comes into my study to kiss me ‘good morning’ and our sweet Goldie (5 yr old Shin Tzu) sits at my feet. JOY indeed comes in the morning.

Have a blessed day walking with our Lord.

2 thoughts on “Be Joyful

Leave a Reply

