Words of Wisdom 9/26/2012 To Vent or Not to Vent – That Is The Question


A fool vents all his feelings,
But a wise man holds them back.
Proverbs 29:11 NKJV

A fool lets it all hang out;
a sage quietly mulls it over.
Proverb 29:11
The Message

Thoughts :

I would truly like to tell you that I am always a wise sage who is able to hold her feelings back, to ponder their source and their meaning and to consider if they are truly worthy of expression. However those of you who know me personally would know that is not always true for you have been on the receiving end of my expression of feelings – good and bad. 🙂

I chuckled when I read The Message translation this morning. The words speak so clearly –

A fool lets it all hang out – I do think we are

to express and share our feelings but only after we have been a sage who quietly mulls it over before venting our emotions.

It is so easy to hurt others when we are foolish in how and when we share our feelings. I would venture to say that venting is not only foolish but most times hurtful and inconsiderate of others.

Today I challenge you as I challenge myself — be a wise sage who mulls it over. 🙂

Have a blessed day in The Lord.

Marilyn

2 thoughts on “Words of Wisdom 9/26/2012 To Vent or Not to Vent – That Is The Question

  1. I am a fool no matter how much I try to be the wise sage I end up at the far end of the pool. I believe that makes me hard to like. I feel sad and strange about that. I spent time with God and have also challenged myself to mull things over. I wonder how far I will get.
    Blessings~Jenn

Leave a Reply

