What’s in a Date?


Do you have dates that stick in your mind? Dates that year after year bring back floods of memories that replay detail by detail in your mind?

On September 4th, 1929 my mom, Dorothy Louvon Cox Smith was born.

On September 3rd, 1949 my mom married my dad, Edward Asberry Smith.

My Mom passed away on Halloween Day, 1998.

7 years ago today, September 4th 2005, at approximately 8:00 am, my dad passed away. I guess he wanted to be with mom on her birthday. 🙂

Every year, I remember these two people who were such a special part of my life and each year I remember the special events of this day — my mom’s birth, my parent’s marriage and my dad’s passing. A cousin also passed away within hours of my dad’s passing.

Interesting how life unfolds and impacts our memories.

I love & miss you Mom & Dad.

Image

Leave a Reply

