Pray for those in Authority


Each morning in my quiet time I ask God to give me verses of scripture He wants me to read. Sometimes a specific scripture will come to mind, other times I just ask Him to tell me where to open my Bible and to lead me to The Word He has for me on that day. Twice recently He has taken me to 1 Timothy 2:1-7.  Both times these words jumped off the page and the words in bold seemed to scream at me.

“Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, for kings and all who are in authority, that we may live a quiet and peaceful life in all godliness and reverence. For this is good and …”

How do I thank god for our President and our government. There are so many reasons why I have no respect for the man who holds the highest office in our nation, yet God clearly is telling me to be thankful for him and for others who are in authority. I pray for our nation. I pray for Christians in our nation to speak up. I pray for a godly man to lead our nation. But, I have not been able to pray specifically for our president who professes to be Christian but whose actions speak louder than his words.

Only God is powerful enough to save the soul of the lost.

Only God is powerful enough to get me to pray for our President.

Heavenly Father,

I ask your forgiveness for finding it so difficult to pray for our president Lord it is difficult for me to see anything about this man to be thankful for, yet Lord you clearly want us to be thankful. Lord, even though I do not respect person, I do respect the office of the President and I respect the fact that you gave him life. I thank you that the philosophy of O’Bama has given me a greater awareness of all that we as Americans may lose if we are not careful. I thank you that I am more engaged in politics today because of the fear this man has instilled in me. I pray Father that you will change His heart and that you will not only save his soul but that you would give him true love and respect for you and for the USA.

In Jesus Name
Amen

Leave a Reply

