The Wonder of a Child – We should learn from them.


Recently my husband and I were visiting our son and his family. We were outside when our grandchildren spotted a bird with a twig in its mouth. My daughter-in-love quickly pointed out a bird nest tucked tightly in the corner of the eave in a dark corner above the patio. The mother bird started to fly in to the nest, only to get close then fly away after realizing that humans were all close by.

Each of us quickly forgot the mother bird. Our grandchildren, a boy age 5 and a girl age 2, began to play. As they played and ran in circles around their daddy and granddad, I pulled out my phone video camera. My grandson soon became engrossed in his playing, so I turned my attention to my granddaughter.  She was dancing around, looking up, laughing softly and was obviously happy about something. She was so cute, that being the dutiful grandmother I am, I began to video her with my Blackberry phone.

As I filmed, the joy on her face became obvious. I wondered what she was seeing when she would look up but was so engrossed in filming her, I didn’t want to look away. After a minute or so I stopped the video and continued to watch her from across the patio with a smile on my face and love bursting inside at the wonder of this beautiful child. Suddenly she was clapping her hands and as I looked to see what she was watching, I saw the mother bird fly away from the nest. At that moment, I heard my granddaughter turn to her daddy and say “Look” …  daddy and granddaddy were so engrossed in their conversation that neither heard her so she quietly walked away still smiling.

As I reflect back on that day, I realized that my little granddaughter and I were both experiencing the wonder of the moment — me watching her and her watching the mother bird.  Out of the six of us who were there, no one else saw what I saw as I watched this child and no one, including me, had seen the wonder of nature and God‘s creation as the mother bird built her nest and cared for her eggs.

Just as I didn’t understand what my granddaughter was doing, I’m sure that she didn’t fully understand what she was watching. Each of us were in awe and appreciation of the moment — God’s creation’s — precious moments unblemished by the world around us. Our reactions were different however. I sat quietly, secretly experiencing the love and wonder of my grandchild. She, however, was animated, fully engaged and eager to share her experience with others. And although her sharing was unnoticed, she didn’t allow it to dampen her joy. She knew, even at age 2, that she had just connected with something special and wonderful and she was happy.

As I have looked back on this time, I began to better understand what Jesus’ was telling us when he told us to become as little children. We are to be animated with the joy of our relationship with Jesus, fully engaged in whatever God is doing in our lives, never taking our eyes from Him, and eager to share our experiences with others. Even if rejected by others, we are to trust what we experience and rejoice in and know that we have experienced something special and wonderful as we open ourselves to Jesus as our Lord and Savior — the greatest wonder in life – that Jesus would lay down His life for us so that we can be redeemed from our sins and experience eternal life with him in Heaven.

Oh Lord, give me the heart of my granddaughter, the heart of a child. Amen.

  • Matthew 18:3 and said, “Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven.
  • Matthew 18:4 Therefore whoever humbles himself as this little child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.
  • Mark 10:15 Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it.
  • Luke 18:17 Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it.
Leave a Reply

