God Bless America


God Bless America – How many of us have prayed these words as our country changes before our eyes?

Tears fell from my eyes as I listened to the choral voices sing with great passion “This is MY Country” and “God Bless the USA”. The words “I AM PROUD TO BE AN AMERICAN” and “This is MY Country” caused me to reflect on my own patriotism and the frequency, or lack thereof, of my voice in the affairs of our great nation.  I was reminded of the patriotism of our founding fathers and of members of my family who died while defending America’s freedom. The bag pipes playing “Amazing Grace” reminded me that the same founding fathers who signed the Declaration of Independence not only loved our country but loved the Lord and placed great value on The Holy Bible and on God’s teachings therein.

Then I heard these words from one of the narrators – “If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” 2 Chronicles 7:14 NIV

“IF MY PEOPLE..” – Lost in my thoughts, I began to wonder — Can a “people” as a nation call upon the Lord and will God truly bless a nation. I can only recall one time when God blessed a nation – the nation of Israel, yet the people of Israel did not reap the fruit of God’s blessing due to their continued disobedience – they still struggle as a nation today.

Yet I believe that a “people as a nation” can call upon the Lord but God is clear – it is only after each individual person in a nation “will humble themselves and pray and seek my (God’s) face and turn from their wicked ways” – it is only then as individual citizens of a nation experience God’s blessing, that a nation as a whole can experience God’s blessing.

As this reality became clearer to me, I realized that to ask God to bless America is not the prayer that I want to pray – instead I will pray that God will heal America one person at a time and that He will restore this nation, one person at a time, to the Christian nation of our founding fathers and that each individual American will be filled not only with God’s Grace, Peace and blessings but with a great love and appreciation for our freedom and for our beloved America.

Written by faithfulnibbles

07/02/09

Leave a Reply

